The Green Man at Etsy

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Another week, another painting.   This time a portrait of the Green Man.  He is generally considered a spirit of the woods and is particularly common in European lore.  Link to the painting.

I ran across an old anonymous poem about him:

I am born on May Morning – by sticks, bells, and ribbons I am the sap – in the dark root
I am the dancer – with his six fools
I am the tump – behind the old church
I am the lost soul – under the misericord
I am the oak – against the stars

I am the face – that peers through the leaves
I am the fear – in a child’ s mind
I am the demon – on the roof-boss

I am killed in October – and laid on church altars

I am the guiser – on the bright bonfire
I am the old grain – sown with the seed
I am the flame – in the pumpkin ‘ s grin
I am the spirit – in the kern-baby’s bosom

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

