Creative Doldrums….

I generally don’t like to write articles that are personal.  I understand that everything that someone chooses to write about or discuss is as much an autobiographical portrait as any other self-aggrandizing bit, but turning inwards for inspiration is counter intuitive for me.

Anyway, on to the point.  I have been a painter for as long as I could hold a brush and I have often found solace in the immersion and self-absorption that occurs when one is very focused on painting–or working in any medium for that matter.  I lived off of the continual cycle, the ritual if you will, of inspiration, refinement, and execution of the work.  Although the themes were constant for me, the paintings always had something new to say about me or to me.

Lately though, for the past year and a half or so, I haven’t felt like painting.  Like all artists, I’ve had periods of time during which I step back and allow my thoughts to gather–some call this procrastinating, but I disagree.  Eventually, something would surface and after the proper devotional time, a painting would emerge, perhaps successfully or less so, but still a final product.

I still have ideas, plenty of them, but the drive is lacking.  I have concluded, perhaps falsely so, that most of what needs to be said within the field of painting has been said.  I grew tired of rehashing the same themes and concepts.  They now are hollow to me and that concerns me because I want to create and feel again that energy that courses through every artists soul as they channel whatever Muse they may lay claim to.

This isn’t a simple matter that can be remedied by all of the old tricks but instead a darkness that follows closely at my heels.  It will pass I am sure and I perhaps may be stronger for it but the mere idea of creating–not just applying paint to a canvas but really investing myself within the work–instills nothing within me…no excitement.  Nada.

Que Sera.

The struggle itself towards the heights is enough to fill a man’s heart. One must imagine Sisyphus happy.
                                                                                         Albert Camus

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • weight  On September 18, 2010 at 15:28

    mFd
    Sky

    • Stirling  On September 19, 2010 at 09:32

      I’m not sure what your comment means exactly. A short perusal of the internet revealed several possible (and likely) wrong meanings such as: multi-function display, manufactured, minimum fatal dose, “someone who thinks he’s cooler than he is” synonyms: douche, meathead (among others that i don’t care to repeat),mean f^*&@g dog. (the last two are courtesy of the urban dictionary who continue their efforts to help old farts like me understand what you whipper-snappers are saying).

      Regardless, thanks for reading and taking the time to leave a comment–whatever it may mean.

  • weight  On September 19, 2010 at 12:15

    hi again

    Sky

  • Ollin  On September 22, 2010 at 19:00

    Sorry to hear your blocked my friend. Might I recommend the Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. It got me to write my book and lead me to stat my blog. I practice some of the exercises she recommends religiously. Hope it helps.

    • Stirling  On September 23, 2010 at 11:39

      I’ll definitely check out Cameron’s book. I can’t say that I’ve heard of it before so thanks for bringing her book to my attention. I’m all for any tools of the trade that can help keep the creativity flowing.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

